Fable Tests Universitiesfrom fabletests.org
Free practice tests →

Reading, UK

University of Reading: English test requirements

Reading publishes one table for all undergraduate courses, with three named exceptions (Pharmacy and Nutrition, Speech and Language Therapy, and international foundation pathways on their own course pages). For postgraduate study there is no scheme: the score sits on each course page, mostly IELTS 6.5 with no element below 5.5 but higher for health, psychology and some other courses.

Checked on 31 Oct 2026 against the university's own pages. Universities change their requirements, and some courses ask for more. Always confirm on the university's page before you book a test or apply.

Applicants from India

For India, the undergraduate table lists Standard XII English as an alternative to a test, with a higher percentage for boards other than CBSE and ICSE. The page says: “70%; all other boards 75%”

Applicants from Nigeria

For Nigeria, the table lists the West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE) at grade C as an alternative to a test. The page says: “C”

IELTS

UG from 5.5

PG Set by course

TOEFL iBT

UG 88

PG Not on the list

PTE Academic

UG 69

PG Not on the list

Duolingo English Test

UG 125

PG Not on the list

Undergraduate

One table covers all undergraduate courses. The page names three exceptions in text (Speech and Language Therapy, Pharmacy, Nutrition). International foundation pathways ask for IELTS 5.5 on their own course pages. The page says the table lists the levels 'generally required', and Reading offers help if you are below them. The Duolingo line has three options that combine a lower overall score with an online pre-sessional course.

Course groupIELTSTOEFL iBTPTE AcademicDuolingo English Test
Most undergraduate coursese.g. BSc Computer Science, BA Education Studies, BSc SociologySource for this group 6.5no lower than 5.5 in each componentIELTS Indicator is listed at the same level. 88 (0-120)17 in Listening, 17 in Writing, 18 in Reading, 20 in SpeakingThe page gives no figure on the new 1-6 scale. TOEFL iBT at Home is listed at the same level. 69The page prints two versions, '69 overall with min. 59 in each component' and '69 overall with min. 64 in each component', without saying which applies to which course. 125no sub score less than 100Alternatives on the page: 120 overall with no sub score below 100 plus a 6-week online pre-sessional, or 115 overall with no sub score below 90 plus a 10-week online pre-sessional.
Pharmacy and Nutritione.g. Pharmacy (including the Preparatory Year course), Nutrition (including Foundation)Source for this group 6.5no less than 6.0 in each component Not on the listThe page says 'IELTS (or equivalent)' for these courses and gives no TOEFL figure. Not on the listNo PTE figure given for these courses. Not on the listNo Duolingo figure given for these courses.
Speech and Language Therapye.g. Speech and Language TherapySource for this group 8.0no less than 7.5 in each component Not on the listThe page says 'IELTS (or equivalent)' and gives no TOEFL figure for undergraduate entry. Not on the listNo PTE figure given for this course. Not on the listNo Duolingo figure given for this course.
International foundation pathwayse.g. BSc Mathematics IFP, BA Economics IFP, BSc Psychology IFPSource for this group 5.5no component below 5.5Taken from the individual pathway course pages. The pathways overview pages say a UKVI IELTS between 5.0 or 5.5 and 6.5 is needed depending on the degree course. Not on the listNot stated on the pathway course pages. Not on the listNot stated on the pathway course pages. Not on the listNot stated on the pathway course pages.

“The English language levels generally required for our courses are outlined in the tables on this page.”

English language requirements (international applicants, undergraduate table)

Postgraduate

No postgraduate scheme is published. Each course page states an IELTS score and the page says 'or equivalent' without giving other test figures. Scores read on course pages on 31 Oct 2026: IELTS 6.5 with no element below 5.5 for MSc Data Science and Advanced Computing, MA Archaeology and the LLM courses in Advanced Legal Studies and International Commercial Law; 6.5 with no element below 6.0 for MA History; 8.0 with no element below 7.5 for MSc Speech and Language Therapy (that page also gives TOEFL 118/120 with at least 29 in Writing, 25 in Speaking, 27 in Listening and 28 in Reading). Other courses may differ.

The scores for this level are set course by course. The tests below are the ones the university lists; check the exact scores on your course page (course finder).

TestOverallEach partStatus
IELTS Academic Not published by the university AcceptedScore set per course; see the level note.
TOEFL iBT – Not on the listFigure given only on a few course pages, for example Speech and Language Therapy.
PTE Academic – Not on the listCourse pages say 'or equivalent' without a figure.
Duolingo English Test – Not on the listNot stated on the postgraduate course pages read.

“IELTS: 6.5 overall with no element less than 5.5 (or equivalent)”

Postgraduate courses (each course page states its English requirement)

Other tests the university lists

  • University of Reading Test of English for Educational Purposes (TEEP), 6.5 with no lower than 5.5 in each component
  • Cambridge C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency (176 with no element below 162)
  • LanguageCert International ESOL B2 (undergraduate)
  • Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (undergraduate)
  • Reading pre-sessional course (Pass or High pass depending on the course)

“Not on the list” means the test does not appear on the university page we checked. It does not mean the test is refused: the course page or the admissions office may still accept it, so ask them.

Practise for your test, free

Fable Tests is an independent guide and is not affiliated with University of Reading or any test owner. University names are used only to identify them. Test names are trademarks of their owners.